Saving the Planet
Everyone can make a difference
Endangered Species: Penguins
African Chinstrap King
Macaroni Magellanic Rockhopper


There are lots of species of penguins out there. These are some of them: King, Royal, Erect-crested, Yellow-eyed, Fjordland, Snares, Magellanic, African, Humboldt, Emperor, Gentoo, Adelie, Rockhopper, Chinstrap, Galapagos, Little(Blue), Macaroni. Penguins only live in the southern hemisphere. They can be found in the southern part of Africa, South America, Antarctica, Australia and New Zealand.


You all probably know that penguins are birds but even though penguins are birds they can't fly. If you ever see a penguin swimming it will look it is flying in the water. These are some things penguins eat: shrimp, squid, fish, shellfish, krill.


Penguins lay one or two eggs at a time. Once the egg is laid the father sits on nest to keep it warm while the mother feeds to store fat. When she returns the egg is ready to hatch. When it hatches both parents care for the chick. When getting food one guards the chick and the other gets the food.

Penguins are not taught to swim. Once they get their adult feathers they leave the nest and jump in the water and swim away.

Chick Emperor Chick and Parents Penguin Chick Gentoo and Chicks
Emperor Chick
and Parents
Penguin Chick
Gentoo and Chicks


Penguins are endangered animals along with lots of others. They are dying because of oil spills and their homes getting polluted and destroyed.

Oiled crested penguin Penguin covered in oil
Oiled crested penguin
Penguin covered in oil

Many of the penguin pictures were obtained from Lockett Photography.

Last updated: March 24, 2005. Check What's New for update notices.